MHG44339 - Ormiscaig


No summary available.

Type and Period (1)

  • ENCLOSURE (Undated)

Protected Status

  • None recorded

Full Description

Thumbnail Photo of building remains at Ormiscaig
Wester Ross Project - Cathy Dagg, 23/3/04

Crofting township laid out in 1845 on the grid pattern unique to Gairloch Estate. Pre-1845 structures and boundaries are visible within the higher lots. Some of the 1845 houses placed in the middle of the square lots are now abandoned, but those adjacent to the main road or the two transverse roads are still occupied, and there is a scattering of new housing and buildings under construction.
Wester Ross Project - Cathy Dagg, 23/3/04
NG89SE 11 centred on 858 905

"Applies to a small district comprising several fishermen's houses with arable and pasture grounds attached..."
Name Book 1881

A crofting township comprising thirty-two roofed, five partially roofed, four unroofed buildings, their associated enclosures and a lime kiln is depicted on the 1st edition of the OS 6-inch map (Ross-shire 1881, sheet xix). Thiry-three roofed, seven unroofed buildings and their associated enclosures are shown on the current edition of the OS 1:10560 map (1969).
Information from RCAHMS (SAH) 22 April 1996

Sources/Archives (1)



Grid reference Centred NG 8579 9049 (60m by 60m) (2 map features)
Map sheet NG89SE
Geographical Area ROSS AND CROMARTY
Civil Parish GAIRLOCH

Finds (0)

Related Monuments/Buildings (1)

Related Investigations/Events (0)

External Links (1)

Comments and Feedback

Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.