Conservation Areas

These are areas which the planning authority considers to be of special architectural or historic interest, the character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance. They may vary in size from whole town centres to single squares, terraces or small groups of buildings. They may be entirely rural, such as a planned estate village, a country house or a battlefield. Within Highland, there are currently thirty conservation areas.

You can find more information and links about Conservation Areas by going to the Highland Council web page. Conservation Area Character Appraisals and other documents are available for some areas, use the links below for more information.


Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross

Dornoch (CON27)

Lybster (CON1)

Milton (CON5)

Portmahomack (CON3)

Tain (CON4)

Thurso (CON26)

Tomich (CON23)

Wick (Pulteneytown) (CON25)


Ross, Skye and Lochaber

Avoch (CON13)

Cromarty (CON6)

Dingwall (CON7)

Fortrose (CON11)

Plockton (CON21)

Portree (CON20)

Rosemarkie (CON9)

Shieldaig (CON14)

Stein Village (CON29)

Strathpeffer (CON8)

Ullapool (CON2)


Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey

Ardersier (CON12)

Beauly Village Square (CON18)

Cawdor (CON15)

Culloden Muir (CON19)

Culloden: House Policies (CON17)

Fort Augustus (CON24)

Grantown On Spey (CON22)

Inverness: Clachnaharry (CON16)

Inverness (Crown) (CON31)

Inverness (Riverside) (CON30)

Nairn (Fishertown) (CON10)