MHG12393 - Broch - Dun Buidhe

Summary

Demolished broch

Type and Period (2)

Protected Status

  • None recorded

Full Description

Dun Buidhe (NAT) Broch (NR) (site of)
OS 6" map (1962)

Dun Bhuidh, 'The remains of an ancient building, but so ruinous that its original form cannot be distinctly traced.... The skeletons of some men were found buried near it some years ago. One of them measured in length above 7 feet. Upon being expose for some time to the air, they mouldered into dust.'
OSA 1792

A broch (J Anderson 1873) demolished about 1840 by Mr Paterson of Melness who said a skeleton was found in it but whether this is a reference to one of the earlier finds is not clear.
Name Book 1874; J Horsburgh 1870; J Anderson 1873

No structural remains. The grass-grown mound, 80m in diameter and 7m high, is natural. Visited by OS (JLD) 21 April 1960

No trace. Visited by OS (ISS) 30 June 1971

No change to previous reports. Visited by OS (JM) 22 August 1978

On a flat-topped grassy mound at the base of a gentle grassy slope, overlooking a rocky shore lies the site of a broch, demolished in 1840, as noted in the NIvIRS. The mound on which the broch stood is c 80 m in diameter, apparently natural and shows no signs of visible structural remains. About 50 m to the SW is a large clearance-heap made up from mixed large boulders and smaller rubble: this may represent the remains of the broch. Further rubble has been dumped down-slope at the shore edge, immediately SE of the site. <1>

Sources/Archives (5)

Map

Location

Grid reference Centred NC 5818 6040 (70m by 70m) (2 map features)
Map sheet NC56SE
Geographical Area SUTHERLAND
Civil Parish TONGUE

Finds (0)

Related Monuments/Buildings (1)

Related Investigations/Events (1)

External Links (1)

Comments and Feedback

Do you have any more information about this record? Please feel free to comment with information and photographs, or ask any questions, using the "Disqus" tool below. Comments are moderated, and we aim to respond/publish as soon as possible.